Row Wrapper 2

Thornton Cottage

4.5000
(10 Reviews)

Capacity

3 Bedrooms
2 Bath
Sleeps 8

Search Availability

About

Built in the 1930’s, the Thornton Cottage will bring back fond memories of a youth spent on the island. We have proudly been representing the Thornton Cottage for over 40 years. If you are trying to find that relaxing place that you can leave the hustle and bustle of the modern world behind, then this part of Saint Simons and the Thornton Cottage are just the place for you! Sit on the screened porch with a swing off the living room and enjoy the breeze from the ocean and the great view. Ground floor has living room, dining room, kitchen, one bedroom with two twin beds and a full bathroom with tub/shower combo. The second floor has two bedrooms- one with two double beds and one with one double bed. There is a Jack and Jill style bathroom with a bath tub on the second floor (please note that the only shower is located on the ground floor). While leaving the modern world behind can leave some a bit nervous, never fear, this house is equipped with WiFi, cable, and HDTV in the living room. AC/heat provided through window units. Additional cleaning fee of $260.00. If you need an extra bedroom the Guest Cottage is available to rent alongside the main house. Refer to Thornton Guest Cottage for rates. ABSOLUTELY NO PETS ALLOWED.

Maximum Occupancy: 8 - STRICTLY ENFORCED

CHECK IN AT 3:00 PM
CHECK OUT AT 10:00 AM

Parking available for 3 vehicles.

Property Address: 1022 Beachview Drive

COMPANY CANCELLATION POLICY: There is a $100.00 processing fee on all cancellations. Deposits will be refunded, less processing fee, if reservation is cancelled over 60 days prior to scheduled arrival date. Inside of 60 days prior to your arrival refunds will NOT be made unless property is re-rented.

Master Accommodation Excise Tax Certificate #088164

Features

Amenities

  • Cottage
  • Oceanfront
  • King & Prince
  • Ocean Front

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
November 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Berry Vacation

September 2022
, Douglasville, GA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

I was unable to go due to a broken femur but my two sisters and brother went. They had only good comments and enjoyed their stay immensely. The beach access was the key. The only issue they had was that the first floor was open to anyone who wanted to look in and the close the curtains was a nightmare.

The Perfect Beachside Cottage

June 2022
, Carthage, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The cottage was perfect for our family vacation. Enjoyed the views and the convenience of being directly on the beach. I loved the fact the home has been used by generations for making memories. Great location from the Saint Simon’s Pier, Lighthouse and shopping.

Manager's Response

So glad you had a great time!

A week at the beach

June 2022
, Brooklet, GA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The 40s era beach house was beautiful and perfect for our extended family. Enough room to do what you want. We were within walking distance of downtown and right on the ocean. Had a wonderful time and would go again.

Dan's May 2022 stay at the Thornton Cottage

May 2022
, Athens, GA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
2

I've stayed at this wonderful old beach cottage something like 10 times now over the past 20 years, and I absolutely adore it. There are very, very few houses like it left on St. Simons, and to stay in it for a week is to relive what it used to be like on the island. I'll continue to rent the Thornton Cottage as long as it's available, and I recommend it to other folks, too, who don't need the bells and whistles available in contemporary condominiums. ... Having said that, I have one very serious complaint: something *must be done* about the beds, especially the double bed in the beautiful main bedroom upstairs, and to a lesser extent with the twin beds in the bedroom downstairs. The upstairs bed is intolerable: the headboard is cracked and unattached to the bed frame itself and bangs loudly against the wall with any movement in the bed (and no, I'm not talking about, shall we say, *vigorous* movement with two people -- I'm talking about one person rolling over). Both the mattress pad and the sheets were virtually in tatters, and were so stretched out that they came off the corners of the bed essentially the instant you laid down in it. The mattress itself is sprung out and terribly uncomfortable as well, and I had to fetch pillows from the other bedroom upstairs because the ones on the bed itself were old and well past being useful. C'mon, guys! The rest of the house is fine (and the folks at Golden Isles responded to my request for some comfortable chairs for the upstairs deck), but put $1,000 or so of the $2,500 my friend and I paid you into a new bed, and either fix or get rid of the old headboard. Everyone who stays in the house will thank you. Cheers, and I look forward to seeing you again! -- Dan Cabaniss

THE THORNTON COTTAGE RENTAL, GREAT LOCATION!

October 2021
, Gulf Shores, AL United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Over all our rental experience was good.
The house need a few small changes such as putting a Queen Bed in the upstairs bedroom that goes out to the deck. (Hard for 2 adults to sleep on a full). The upstairs bathroom needs a shower rod/kirtan put up in the bathroom so more that 1 person can take a shower at the same time. The place was dusty with out of date kirtans, golf balls & plastic fork & spoon left on the floor from previous renters. Great location, walking distance to the village. We would recommend this house to friends. We will stay there again.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your suggestions. Glad to hear you will come back!

Great location, can't beat it but set expectations low for house

July 2019
, Alpharetta, GA US

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
2

The location was amzing and so convenient. Easy with kids. Amzing to sit on porch and beach at night and look at stars and ocean. We stayed on the beach one night until 10pm. The house could use some updating. Only 1 shower - the bathroom upstairs only has a bath tub - so all adults have to use the same bathroom to shower. We had kids use outdoor shower but note it only has cold water. Beds and mattresses need to be changed out. Sheets and towels were clean. House was clean, just old. As long as you set your expectations and know what you are getting into, it will work out. We loved the location.

Vintage Beach Cottage Right on the Beach

July 2019
, Hixson, TN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We loved this house- plenty of room for the kids to spread out and lovely views of the ocean through several vantage spots.

Interesting cottage. Old, rustic and cute and efficient.

March 2019
, Hardy, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

Enjoyable time spent on St. Simons Island. Access to the ocean was a plus.

family fun vacation at St Simons Island

June 2018
, Buford, GA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

I would recommend Golden Isles Realty to anyone with realty needs. They are so very friendly, cooperative and " go the extra mile" to find whatever property is best for individual needs. A top rated company for sure.

Thornton Cottage - February & March

March 2018
, United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
1
Location
5
Property condition
1

We enjoyed being right on the beach. It was a great experience.